Callen Lorde – An Excellent Health Center for Gender Queer People in NYC

I went to Callen-Lorde Community Health Center for the first time yesterday.  As an FTM I have found that most doctors struggle to understand my gender identity. Although I find most doctors well intended,  I have experienced several doctors displaying a high level of general ignorance to gender queer issues. Those doctors who are not downright hostile, seem more curious to examine me as an oddity than interested in really hearing me and helping me out.

So going to Callen-Lorde was amazing – in a good way!

I was NOT treated with the usual form with check box questions of: male or female. They totally acknowledge “gender queer” people and were very respectful about it. I found the whole experience quite pleasant actually despite being nervous about having to pay for it with out any insurance. (The fee was more than reasonable.)

This Health Center exists really to help underserved populations. For that reason if you have some form of decent health insurance they probably won’t take you. They are really there to serve those who have no health insurance.

My Doctor was Irina Linetskya, MD. She was excellent.  She was unusually kind and friendly to me, unlike most doctors who seem mildly angry at my existence. She was smart, respectful, and well informed. I highly recommend her and all the health care professionals I was lucky to meet at Callen-Lorde.

http://www.callen-lorde.org

Here is the info from their website:

Callen-Lorde Community Health Center is New York City’s only primary health care center dedicated to meeting the health needs of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities and people living with HIV/AIDS,
regardless of any patient’s ability to pay.
We are welcoming to all, regardless of sexual orientation or insurance coverage.

Leave a Reply

